See More

Country Assessment Guidelines

The AASW's Country Assessment Guidelines have been developed to provide applicants with an indication of the likelihood of a positive outcome for migration or AASW membership eligibility purposes. The document is a guide only and each individual applicant's qualification/s will still be assessed independently, against the five criteria for comparability to social work education standards in Australia before an official outcome is provided. All applicants must also meet the AASW's English Language Requirements. It is important to note the following:

  • The AASW is the authorised assessing authority of social work specific qualifications for migration skills assessment purposes. The AASW provides a recommendation to the Department of Home Affairs. It is at the discretion of the Department of Home Affairs whether points or the appropriate Visa will be awarded.

  • Decisions around determining AASW membership eligibility is at the sole discretion of the AASW.

  • The AASW can change the following Country Assessment Guidelines at any time.

  • The AASW welcomes feedback on these guidelines, particularly from overseas professional social work associations or registration authorities.

The Guidelines are only relevant to applicants with qualifications from the following countries:

  • Canada
  • Norway
  • Chile
  • Phillipines
  • India
  • South Africa
  • Ireland
  • Switzerland
  • Netherlands
  • United Kingdom
  • New Zealand
  • United States of America

Country Assessment Guidelines

AASW Country Assessment Guidelines

AASW - Australian Association of Social Workers