Social work registration


The AASW presented to the Joint House Committee of the South Australian Parliament on the proposed Social Workers Registration Bill 2018 on 30 January 2019.

The AASW was represented by AASW CEO Cindy Smith, AASW Board member Anita Phillips, who has campaigned for Registration of social workers for many years, AASW South Australian Branch President Patricia Muncey and AASW Manager of Social Policy and Advocacy Debra Parnell. 

Anita Phillips was interviewed on ABC radio about the Bill and the proposal for Registration.

The Joint Committee is consulting with stakeholders in relation to the proposed regulatory framework and its implementation over the coming months. We will provide further updates as they become available.