See More

SA Social Worker of the Year Awards 2016

The collection of photos from the 2016 Awards presentation night shows just how justifiably proud those involved in this program were of their collaborative success.

Here are the announcements of the 2016 winners of the inaugural South Australian Social Worker of the Year Awards. View the 2016 awards casebook here or by clicking on the image below:

The awards celebrate the value of outstanding and dedicated social workers in South Australia and provide a platform for them to receive the recognition they deserve. They also promote social work as a positive profession and highlight the change and important impact social workers have on the communities in which they work.

2016 Awards Presentations

Profiles of the 5 winners:

  • Rural and Remote Practitioner - Surhara Perera 
  • Rising Star - Grace Chakabra
  • Practitioner - Mel Ford
  • Change Agent - Andrew Paterson
  • Inspiring Leader - Margaret Davies 

Photo collections:


Each category wins a year of Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW) Membership, or equivalent in free AASW SA CPD if already a Member. In addition, a professional development cash prize of $1,000 will be included.

Profile summaries of all nominated parties will be contained within the Awards Casebook which will be available as a booklet published on the AASW SA website for 12 months.


Along with our Partners from the office of the Commissioner of Victims' Rights we are pleased to announce the nominees for the 2016 SA Social Worker of the Year Awards.

 Hesta Superannuation Fund - Practitioner of the Year

Felicity Chapman Private Practitioner   
Jane Eberhard Families SA  
Jessica Pellegrino  Families SA  
Mel Ford Guardianship of the Minister Team Families SA  
Robert Goudie SA Health  
Sally Rhodes Self employed  
Tamsin Dancer Dept for Communities and Social Inclusion  

Families SA -Inspiring Social Work Leader of the Year

Anna Clark DECD – Families SA  
Anna Kemp Department of Correctional Services  
Carol Irizarry Flinders University  
Christine Belford Parkinson’s SA  
Elaine Nash Dept for Communities and Social Inclusion  
Lee Marling Northern CAMHS- Women's and Children's Health Network  
Jac Taylor Assistant Manager Client Services Victim Support  Service  
Lynn Taylor Country Directorate – Families SA  
Margaret Davies Salvation Army  
Mark McCarthy Women's and Children's Health Network  
Mary Allstrom NEAMI National  
Pauline Connelly Centacare (Assistant Director)  
Suraya Naidoo Housing SA  
Tara Blaikie  Families SA Port Augusta  
Tim Walsh Domiciliary Care - Dept for Communities and Social Inclusion

Australian Services Union - Rising Social Work Star of the Year

Amy Selway Families SA  
Charles Tant Relationships Australia  
Grace Chakabva

Southern Older Persons Mental Health Services- Community Team


University of South Australia - Rural & Remote SW of the Year

Christene Eleftheriadis Riverland Health Service  
Emily Alchin Centacare Port Augusta   
Leon Schulz Families SA, Ceduna  
Sandra Rattley Eastern Eyre Health and Aged Care  
Suhara Perera
Umoona Tjutagku Health Service Aboriginal Corporation  
Suzanne Mutton

University of South Australia Mt Gambier Campus  


University of South Australia - Social Work Change Agent of the Year

Andrew Paterson Flinders Uni (currently undertaking PhD studies)  
Janine Searle Families SA – Placement Support Unit  
Louise Nobes

Inspired BUY



Contact us

P: 03 9320 1000 or 1800 630 124 (toll free alternative)

Tues-Fri 8.00am-4.00pm
Branch Services Coordinator:
Kristen Keley

Connect with us on:

AASW - Australian Association of Social Workers