See More

Election dates 2018

The Board has approved the 2018 election dates

Key action Deadline
Nominations open Friday, 3 August 2018
Nominations close Friday, 17 August 2018 at 12pm AEST
Declaration of nominations by Returning Officer Thursday, 23 August 2018
Voting opens Thursday, 13 September 2018
Voting closes Thursday, 4 October 2018 at 4pm AEDT
Declaration of Ballot by Returning Officer Thursday, 11 October 2018
Notice of Results on AASW website Friday, 12 October 2018

FAQ's - AASW elections 2018

14 September 2018 - Candidate Profiles

We have been advised that compatibility with some devices reading PDF documents is causing a problem. To rectify this for as many members as possible, we will convert the Candidate Statements to plain text format and will replace them on this page as soon as we can. Once the conversion has been finalised, we will let you know.

3 September 2018 - Facebook Group

We opened a Facebook Group for current financial members to engage with those who are standing for elections in 2018. We are working through each request because we must verify that everyone admitted to the Group is a current financial member who is eligible to vote in the elections. We do ask two questions to make the vetting process easier, one of which is your member number, which will make it easier to identify you. We also note that some people may use a different name on Facebook from what their name is on the AASW database. If that is your situation, we still must satisfy ourselves that we are only accepting financial members into the Group. If this is an issue for you, please be in touch confidentially with

Further notice - If you wish to join our AASW Elections 2018 Facebook Group, please make sure you provide your member number and the name we have on file for you, if your Facebook name is different. This is to ensure we can verify that those who request to join are current financial members.

23 August 2018 - Declaration of Nominations

Candidates for the 2018 Board elections have been declared by the Returning Officer.

National Board

The Returning Officer has declared the following candidates (in alphabetical order) for contested positions, which will move to elections:

National Vice President

Vittorio Cintio

Linda Ford

National Directors

Andrew Allsop

Suzanne Doorakkers-Sprague

Brooke Kooymans

Jenny Rose

Jack Whitney

Queensland Branch Management Committee President

Ellen Beaumont

Beni McKenzie

Victoria Branch Management Committee President

Alexandra Bhathal

Glenda Kerridge

​​​​​The Returning Officer has declared the following candidates elected unopposed:

Branch Management Committees


Branch Management Committee members – Candice Butler and Caitlyn Waterton

New South Wales

Branch Management Committee President – David Keegan

Branch Management Committee members – Samantha Miller, Anita Willey and Mali Newman-Plant

South Australia

Branch Management Committee President – Patricia Muncey


Branch Management Committee members – Derya Koksal


Branch Management Committee President – Jacqueline Russell

Branch Management Committee members – David Gould and Megan Smith.

Western Australia

Branch Management Committee President – Michael Berry

Branch Management Committee member – Michelle Blogna

Northern Territory

Branch Management Committee President – Emma Wooldridge


No nominations received.

North Queensland

Branch Management Committee member – Paul Burton

We congratulate all the new Branch Management Committee Presidents and Branch Management Committee members, and look forward to working with you in 2019.

Stephen Luntz
Returning Officer

17 August 2018

Nominations have now closed for Board and Branch Management Committee positions for 2018.

The Returning Officer is currently reviewing nominations received and will declare the outcomes on Thursday 23 August 2018.

A special Elections Bulletin will be released at that time.

AASW - Australian Association of Social Workers