See More

Organisational Structure

AASW Organisational Structure

The AASW is governed by a Board, which is elected by and accountable to the AASW membership.

The Board is supported by a range of structures, including Committees of the Board, standing committees, advisory groups and practice groups. Collectively these groups assist the Board to fulfil its role and responsibilities and provide critical grassroots input from members into the direction and work of the association.

Committees of the Board are appointed by the Board in relation to core matters such as governance (e.g. Finance and Risk Committee and National Ethics Panel) and relationships (Membership Committee and the Reconciliation Taskforce).

Standing committees are ongoing committees appointed to support a particular function of the association.

Advisory Groups are appointed to address key issues of the moment, drawing on members’ expert knowledge in the strategic area of interest of the Advisory Group. Advisory Groups are generally appointed following a call for expressions of interest and are guided by terms of reference.

Practice Groups are formed by members around areas of social work practice and policy.

The organisational chart illustrates the direct relationships between the AASW membership, the Board, committees, groups and staff.

Current opportunities to get involved

National Research Committee

The AASW National Research Committee is seeking expressions of interest for new members to join the committee. If you are interested in contributing to a culture of research within the profession and the association, we would love to hear from you. Applications welcome from social workers working in direct practice, evaluation and academia.

To express interest in this committee, please:

  • Read the Terms of Reference
  • Write a cover letter outlining your interest, commitment and expertise in relation to social work research
  • Send your application, with a copy of your CV, to by 14 December 2016

For enquiries about this opportunity, please contact the Professional Officer (Accreditation and Standards) on 03 9320 1044.

Current Advisory Groups

National SWOT Curriculum Advisory Group
Update of School Social Work Practice Standards Advisory Group
National Code of Conduct Advisory Group
AASW - Australian Association of Social Workers