Disability Credential

The roll out of the National Disability Insurance Scheme has created new roles and opportunities for social workers, especially those who are Accredited Disability Social Workers.

The creation of a Disability credential, recognises the specialist skills of social workers working in the disability sector, helping them access roles in within the National Disability Insurance Agency and roles funded through the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

As a result, the support social workers can provide in disability is now more accessible to the community.

Benefits of a Disability Credential


Accredited Disability Social Workers can be clearly identified by the National Disability Insurance Scheme participants as having specific skills in the disability sector.

Make a difference

By holding a Disability accreditation and being able to work in roles funded by the NDIS more of the community can benefit from your specific skills.


Accredited Disability Social Workers will have the demonstrated skills and experience to become providers across many roles funded by the NDIS.

Disability Credential FAQs

  • Our Social Work Online Training platform contains Disability specific on-demand training, as well as a selection of Live training which can be accessed through our events calendar. Accredited Disability Social Workers are required to are required to meet the CPD requirements annually to maintain their credential.
  • Social Work Australia is the AASWs online community of practice, providing a dynamic, member-led space for peer connection, support, discussion, and learning through shared practice knowledge, experiences and resources. There is a dedicated Disability group where members can share and collaborate fellow credentialed members.

Applicants who are not currently working in direct practice can also be eligible for the disability credential if they can demonstrate their understanding of the disability capabilities that are fundamental to their ability to perform their role. This might apply to roles such as research, education and leadership and management roles.

You are required to show at least two (2) years’ full-time equivalent, post-qualification experience within the past five (5) years in a disability setting. You must only include in this section employment positions from within the last five (5) years that are relevant to disability. These roles must have been held after having qualified from an accredited social work course.

Direct and Indirect Practice – Applicants who are not currently working in direct practice can also be eligible for the disability credential if you can demonstrate that your understanding of the disability capabilities is fundamental to your ability to perform your role. This might apply to roles such as research, education and leadership and management roles.

The below information can be used for you to make as assessment of each role you have performed, to determine if it is a disability social work setting.

Social work with people with disability can occur in any practice context. Examples of specific settings can include, but are not limited to

  • The National Disability Insurance Agency
  • Information, Linkages and Capacity Building programs (ILC)
  • Disability service providers
  • Advocacy services
  • Indigenous support services
  • All levels of healthcare
  • All levels of education
  • Early intervention services
  • Rehabilitation services
  • Aged care services
  • Mental health services
  • Homelessness services
  • Child protection services
  • Justice services
  • Policy and research

Social work practice in this field spans a number of approaches and, depending on the role, can include:

  • Assessment
  • Capacity building
  • Case management and service coordination
  • Advocacy
  • Counselling and therapeutic approaches
  • Planning
  • Mediation and conflict resolution
  • Policy and program design and research
  • Provision of specialist expertise.

Payment for the Disability Credential must be made in full before any new application, renewal, reinstatement, or secondary application (reassessment or appeal).