See More

Board of Directors

Please select the Board member's name to view their biography.

National President

Christine Craik Christine Craik

Christine has worked as a social worker in family support, housing, community health and hospitals with a focus on domestic violence, sexual abuse and refugees for almost three decades. Christine holds a Master’s Degree in Social Policy and Management and is currently completing her PhD in the area of domestic and family violence. Christine was National Vice President of the AASW from 2011- 2017. She has chaired many Committees, including the Governance review of 2015-16. Christine currently lectures full time in the undergraduate and post graduate Social Work Degrees at RMIT University, is an active member of many community groups, including Chair of Project Respect, working with women trafficked into the sex industry. Christine was elected National President in November 2017. Email Christine Craik.

National Vice President

Vittorio Cintio Vittorio Cintio

Vittorio Cintio is a National Vice-President, elected in October 2018. Vittorio is based in the Blue Mountains in New South Wales and has over 40 years’ experience in the health sector and in private practice, counselling individuals and families. Vittorio is currently a social work leader in NSW Health, with management, teaching and research responsibilities. Vittorio was previously on the Board of AASW, having served as a Director between 2010 and 2012. Email Vittorio Cintio.


Suzanne Doorakkers-Sprague Suzanne Doorakkers-Sprague

Suzanne is the proprietor and Director of a counselling and consulting practice headquartered in Geelong, Victoria. Suzanne’s practice is dedicated to the provision of excellence in assisting the Geelong community with quality and skilled treatment for life transitions, mental health concerns and health conditions. In addition, Suzanne provides services for individuals and family carers with neurological disorders around adjustment, grief counselling and service system advocacy. Suzanne also provides assistance to allied health professionals in this area with Supervision, compassion fatigue and Employee Assistance. Suzanne is a co-convenor of the Victorian Social Workers in Private Practice. Email Suzanne Doorakkers-Sprague.

Dr Fotina Hardy Dr Fotina Hardy

Fotina has over 30 years’ experience in direct practice, policy and research and as an educator, most recently nine years as Coordinator of Field Education for the BSW, MSW(Qualifying) and BHS degrees. Children and families, older people and the aged care systems – along with the education and support of social work students - are three particular areas of interest for Fotina. Fotina served on the AASW Branch Management Committee (Queensland) for ten years, six as President. She has been co-convenor of the Queensland Social Policy sub-committee, Child Protection Practice Group and is a past member and convenor of the National Research Committee. Email Fotina Hardy.

Brooke Kooymans Brooke Kooymans

Brooke was elected as a Director of the Association in October 2018. Brooke is a current practising social worker with almost 20 years’ experience working with Australia’s leading government and non-government agencies, both in the public and private sectors. Brooke is currently undertaking a PhD with a research focus on “Social Work in Practice in the Community Sector”. Brooke resides in Brisbane, Queensland. Email Brooke Kooymans.

Dr Peter Munn OAM Dr Peter Munn OAM

Peter worked as an accountant for 5 years before undertaking social work. His social work practice includes 6 years as a front line social worker and then teaching social work for over 20 years at UniSA, Whyalla Campus. He completed his University career as Dean, Teaching and Learning and Associate Professor in Rural Health. His last position before retiring in December 2016 was to lead Centacare Catholic Country SA during a period of growth in rural Social Australia. He is one of 12 Foundation Fellows of the Australian College of Social Work. Peter has had a long term commitment to rural communities having lived in Whyalla for several decades. Email Peter Munn.

Jenny Rose Jenny Rose

Jenny came to social work twenty years ago, having first completed a welfare degree. She has completed several post graduate qualifications including a master of mental health (child and adolescent), diploma of business (frontline management) and a cert IV in training and assessment. Prior to joining the Board she was a member of the NSW Branch Management Committee for six years, the last three as the Branch President and has been a member of the Education Standards Committee. Jenny works as a senior social worker/student educator at the Children’s Hospital at Westmead, part of the Sydney Children’s Hospital Network. Jenny was elected to the Board in October 2017. Email Jenny Rose.

Julianne Whyte Julianne Whyte

Julianne is the CEO and founder of a not-for-profit organisation that provides social, emotional, psychological and existential support for the needs of people living with advanced chronic and life limiting illness in rural and regional communities in southern New South Wales. Julianne has over 40 years’ experience working in health, community services, community development, policy and program development and implementation and research. She is an accredited Mental Health Social Worker and is in the final stages of her PhD developing a framework for social work practice in palliative and end-of-life care. Email Julianne Whyte.

Director - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander representative

Linda Ford

Linda Ford is an Aboriginal woman from North West Queensland with 22 years’ experience as a social worker in rural, remote and urban areas. Linda is particularly passionate about child protection after working for seventeen years in this area of social work. Following a stint as Director of Social Work for Queensland Health, Linda returned to Child Protection as Manager of the Mount Isa and Gulf Child Safety Service Centre, where she is currently employed. From time to time, Linda has been guest lecturer and adjunct lecturer for James Cook University in North Queensland in the areas of social work theory and ethical practice. Linda is committed to the profession of social work and prior to becoming a National Board member, Linda was past President of the AASW North Queensland Branch. Linda has been full Director of the Board since 1 November 2017. Email Linda Ford.

AASW - Australian Association of Social Workers