Branch – NT

The Northern Territory Branch, with over 300 members, is supported by a voluntary Branch Management Committee elected by the Branch membership. 

The Branch’s key role is to provide local support for AASW members through a range of activities that enable members to network, develop practice skills and organise around social justice issues. 

NAIDOC Week - Keep the Fire Burning! Blak, Loud and Proud.

NT Branch Management Committee are excited to present a conversation with Josephine Lee and Tim Donovan to celebrate this year’s NAIDOC week, with the theme Keep the Fire Burning! Blak, Loud and Proud.

Josephine Lee is a Gudjula woman from North Queensland. Josephine holds a Bachelor of Social Work degree from James Cook University and a Diploma in Indigenous Leadership.

Tim Donovan is an Accredited Mental health social worker who has been working in Alice Springs, NT, for close to 10 years.

NAIDOC Week runs from 7 July – 24 July 2024

Reflecting on Excellence in Social Work: Mary Moylan NT Social Worker of the Year Awards 2024

Congratulations to Larissa Ellis, this year’s Mary Moylan Social Worker of the Year Award winner!
On 14 June, we gathered to celebrate the incredible contributions of social workers across the Northern Territory at the Mary Moylan Social Worker of the Year Awards, hosted by the Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW). This prestigious event honours the enduring legacy of Mary Moylan, a passionate and influential social worker who impacted our community before her untimely passing at age 38.
Linda Ford, the National President of the AASW, delivered the Annual Address and presented the awards. Linda reflected on the profound impact of social workers in the NT. She highlighted how these professionals navigate complex social issues and engage with remote communities, continuing the legacy of compassion and dedication that Mary Moylan exemplified.
This year’s winner, Larissa Ellis is the CEO of Women’s Safety Services of Central Australia. Larissa’s leadership and advocacy for women and children facing domestic, family, and sexual violence have driven significant policy changes and community safety initiatives. Her work continues to be a powerful force for systemic change and human rights in the NT.
Mary Moylan’s pioneering work as the first remote social worker for the Commonwealth Department of Social Security remains a guiding light for many. These awards celebrate her commitment to social justice and community wellbeing, reminding us of social workers’ vital role in driving positive change.
Caption: On the evening National President Linda Ford presented the award to NT Branch Vice President Jill Garrett on behalf of Larissa Ellis. The Winner, Larissa Ellis, attended via video online link from Alice Springs.
NT Branch President, Andrew Richardson and NT Branch Vice President, Jill Garrett presented Larissa Ellis with the award the following day.

NT Branch and Volunteers Networking Dinner

A networking dinner was held with BMC, local volunteers and National President Linda Ford who was in Darwin to present the Mary Moylan Award 2024

Upcoming Events

Contact us

Branch Services Coordinator

Phone: 03 9320 1000 or 1800 630 124 (toll free alternative)
E-mail: Click here

Connect with us on