See More

SA Branch Practice Groups

Practice Groups operating at Branch level serve the function of providing a forum for social workers operating in different areas of practice or in specific regions to:

  • meet and share common practice issues and knowledge;
  • promote and provide expertise within the group, to the AASW and the wider community;
  • develop and provide education sessions, symposiums and other functions.

The South Australian Branch have a number of very active Practice Groups. If you are interested in getting involved in an existing Practice Group, you are invited to contact the Practice Group Convenor/s directly via the contact details outlined on each Practice Group website page listed below.

Practice Groups

Aged Care

Convenor - John-Paul Kristensen
John-Paul.Kristensen@unitingcommunities.org

Practice Group meets 6.00-7.30pm bi-monthly on Wednesdays in person and via Zoom

Upcoming dates:
Wednesday, 4 August 2021
Wednesday, 6 October 2021
Wednesday, 1 December 2021
Wednesday, 2 February 2022
Wednesday, 6 April 2022
Wednesday, 1 June 2021

Wellbeing and Mental Health

Convenor - Azmiri Mian
azmiri.mian@gmail.com

Practice Group meets 6.00-7.30pm bi-monthly Wednesdays in person and via Zoom

Upcoming dates:
Wednesday, 22 September 2021
Wednesday, 17 November 2021
Wednesday, 19 January 2022
Wednesday, 16 March 2022
Wednesday, 18 May 2022

Child Protection

Convenor - TBC .
aasw.sa@aasw.asn.au

Practice Group meets 12.00-2.00pm six weekly on Wednesdays in person and via Zoom

Upcoming dates:
Wednesday, 4 August 2021
Wednesday, 15 September 2021
Wednesday, 27 October 2021
Wednesday, 8 December 2021
Wednesday, 2 February 2022
Wednesday, 16 March 2022

Green Social Work

Convenor - Tim Walsh

timwalsh@adam.com.au

Practice Group meets 5.30-7.30pm bi-monthly on Thursdays in person and via Zoom

Upcoming dates:
Thursday, 16 September 2021
Thursday, 18 November 2021

Rural, Regional and Remote

Convenor - Karin Bolton
cassybolton17@gmail.com

Practice Group meets 7.00-8.00pm monthly on Mondays via Zoom

Upcoming dates:
Monday, 16 August 2021
Monday, 20 September 2021
Monday, 18 October 2021
Monday, 15 November 2021
Monday, 20 December 2021
Monday, 17 January 2022

Family and Domestic Violence

Convenor - Colin Sparrow
colinsparrow@mac.com

Practice Group is currently taking a short hiatus

Usually meets 6.00-8.00pm bi-monthly on Wednesdays in person and via Zoom

Upcoming dates:
Wednesday, 24 November 2021

Contact us

P: 03 9320 1000 or 1800 630 124 (toll free alternative)

E: aaswsa@aasw.asn.au
Tues-Fri 8.00am-4.00pm
Branch Services Coordinator:
Kristen Keley

Connect with us on:

AASW - Australian Association of Social Workers