See More

SA Branch Practice Groups

Practice Groups operating at Branch level serve the function of providing a forum for social workers operating in different areas of practice or in specific regions to:

  • meet and share common practice issues and knowledge;
  • promote and provide expertise within the group, to the AASW and the wider community;
  • develop and provide education sessions, symposiums and other functions.

The South Australian Branch have a number of very active Practice Groups. If you are interested in getting involved in an existing Practice Group, you are invited to contact the Practice Group Convenor/s directly via the contact details outlined on each Practice Group website page listed below.

Practice Groups

Aged Care

Convenor - Felicity Chapman


Neda Bojnoordi
Natasha Boots
Diane Cass
Jennie Charlton
Lenore De la Perrelle
ShiJun Huang
Rosalind Jamieson
Janet Kelly
Alan McConnach
Mary Nguyen
Margie Pitcher
Lynne Sellars
Tim Walsh

Mental Health

(Image Pending)

Convenor (Acting) - Natalia Ibarra


Diana Awarau
Diane Cass
Jocelyn Day
Natalia Ibarra
Jeanne Lorraine
Suzanne Marsh
Nga Nguyen
Nevena Simic
Alison Smith-Wesson
Wendy Studholme
Shirley Young

Child Protection

Convenor (Acting) - Mary Hood


Tony Tonkin
Jennie Charlton
Margaret Davies
Michelle Adams
Colleen Haskett
Maria Scicchitano
Janet Kelly
Tim Powell
Sue Wood
Gandeep Gill
Carmella Bastian
Jeanne Lorraine
Anne Nicolaou
Julie O'Dea
Sue Maywald


Convenor - Sophie Diamandi

The role of the AASW SA Ethics Committee is that of a group of members has responsibility for providing initial consultation on matters of ethical conduct and overseeing the Ethics Education and Policy Development Process. Their role is in initiating and responding to ethics policy and law reform opportunities, which are relevant to the social work profession and our clients. The group also has the role of implementing Ethics education and training in SA. We also use the ethics group as a study group to share ideas, practice wisdom and experiences to grow our own expertise in the area.

The current situation in Australia is that it is not compulsory for Social Workers to be members of their professional association (the AASW). The AASW can only receive complaints about Social Workers who are members of the AASW. As a profession we need to work towards professional registration so that all social workers need to adhere to the AASW Code of Ethics and the association is able to respond to complaints made against all social workers.


Angela Powell
Eva Leydo
Julie O’Dea
Liz Lillecrapp
maria Scicchitano
Patricia Muncey
Tim Walsh

Green Social Work coming soon

Convenor (Acting) - Tim Walsh

Members: TBA

Contact us

P: (08) 8463 5911
Mon & Tues - 9:00am – 2:30pm
Wed & Thurs 8:00am - 5:00pm
Fri 9:00am - 2:30pm
27 Conyngham St, Glenside SA 5065
Branch Manager:
Miriam Hobson
Administration Officer:
Kristen Keley

AASW - Australian Association of Social Workers